How many points should match in Kundali for Marriage?

How many points should match in kundali for Marriage

Marriage as per Hindu tradition is advised only after matching the horoscopes of the bride and groom so that they live a compatible and happy life. The Vedic astrology advises considers Kundali matching very important for this purpose. Kundali has 8 categories known as Kootas or Koots. In turn, they have 36 Guns or Ganas which have to be matched for the bride and the groom. This system of horoscope matching as per the Vedic astrology system is also termed as Ashta Koota Milan.

Kundali matching and happy marriage

The most important aspect of Kundli matching is the position of moon in the bride’s and groom’s horoscopes. As per the Ashta Koota Milan system, the 36 aspects mentioned in the system are compared between the horoscopes of the bride and the groom. The higher the number of compatible items, the happier will be the life of the bride and groom. The best match is noted when all the 36 Gunas of the bride and groom match.

Kundali matching predictions for marriage

If only less than 18 aspects match between the bride and the groom, the marriage cannot be successful and hence pairing such individuals is never advised as per the Vedic astrology. If 18 to 24 aspects match, the marriage can be approved. However, the results of compatibility will be average. Matching of 25 to 32 aspects is considered a very good match with the prospects of the couple assuring a very happy marriage. If 33 and more aspects match, then such pairing is considered the best on the earth and can give way to an excellent marital union for the individuals coming together.

Aspects of Ashta Koota Milan

There are eight categories listed out in the Vedic astrology under the Ashta Koota Milan system of horoscope matching. Under each of these categories, detailed guidelines are given to match the horoscopes of the bride and the groom. Scores are noted down for each of these compatibility aspects. The final scores are obtained by consolidating the scores noted under all the categories. Here are the different categories of horoscope matching for marriages.

Varna or Jati

Based on the horoscope, the ego aspect of every individual is categorized into four Varnas or Jatis like brahmana, Kshatriya, Vaishy and Shudra. For a good compatibility score, the groom’s varna must be at least one point higher than that of the bride. If this is not noted, then the Varna of the bride and groom are said to be incompatible.


Vashya refers to the power equation between the bride and the groom. The five types of classification of humans based on Vashya groups them under human, wild animals (Vanchar), small animals (chatushpad), waterborne animals (Jalchar) and insects (Keet). The compatibility score is 2 when the bride and the groom belong to the same Vasya, zero when they belong to the opposite vashya, ½ point for man and water animals combination and 1 point for the remaining.


This is birth star compatibility. There are 27 birth stars. The star of the bride is counted from that of the groom and the resultant number is divided by nine. In the same way a score is obtained for the groom. If the reminders of both the bride’s and the groom’s scores are even, the compatibility score is 3, zero if they are odd and 1.5 points if one of them is odd.


This is sexual compatibility. The yoni koot has 14 classifications including Horse, Elephant, Sheep, Snake, Dog, Cat, Rat, Cow, Buffalo, Tiger, Hare/Deer, Monkey, Lion, Mongoose. If the bride and groom belong to the category of the same animal, the score is 4 points, enemy animals get zero points, friendly animals get 3 points, 2 points for neutral animals and non-friendly animals get 1 point.


This part matches the rashi compatibility. The Lords of zodiac houses are friends, neutral or enemies. Five points are given for friendly zodiacs, 4 points for one friend and one neutral and zero points if they are enemies.


This part matches the temperaments. The three Ganas are Deva (gods), manav (humans) and rakshasas (demons). 8 points are given when the bride and groom belong to the same gana, 1 point for deva and Rakshasa and zero points for Manav and Rakshasa.


This category is related to love and calculated based on the moon’s position in the bride and groom’s horoscopes. If the groom’s moon position is 2, 3 4, 5, 6 places from that of the bride, the match is poor; the positions 7 and 12 indicate a good match. The bride’s moon position from that of the groom’s is 12 from that of the groom, the match is bad. The positions 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 are considered good.


This koot is related to the health and genes of the bride and groom. The three nadis are Vata (air), Pitta (bile) and kappa (phlegm). If the bride’s and groom’s nadis are the same, no points are given. If they are different, 8 points are given.

Important points regarding ashta Koot matching

Though the system of ashta koot matching is universally adopted across the Vedic astrology horoscope matching, there are regional differences in how the scores are given in the North Indian and South Indian traditions. Different astrologers might consider different kinds of parameters and hence the scores might vary between different astrologers. Some of the other kinds of matching followed by different astrologers in addition to ashta koota matching are Mahendra Koota, Deergha Koota, Veda Koota and Raju Koota.

Why Kundali matching is essential for marriages

The system of Kundali matching is based on very ancient tradition and practice and is the gift of Vedic astrology to humans. In fact, Kundli matching is science and never a superstition. On a subtle analysis, the findings of the Ashta Koota matching have been proved to be highly effective in paving way for happy marriages, and hence taking inputs from the Kundali matching is a sure way for the success of marriages.