Understanding the Signs: A Guide to Astrology

Astrology is based on the study of celestial bodies, planets, and energies they dominate. Astrology isn't a belief system, a cult, nor a religion...

Are you curious about the idea of horoscopes and how they could foresee your future? You don’t have to be skeptical about astrology, as people DO have free will. It’s more based on the notion that celestial bodies (like how the moon affects tides) influence us.

This beginner’s guide to astrology from professional Astrologer Kello Fox of AstrologyTV enlightens you on how to use it to bring balance into your life.

What Astrology Is Not

Astrology is based on the study of celestial bodies, planets, and energies they dominate. Astrology isn’t a belief system, a cult, nor a religion. It’s simply a way of seeing the world and positioning yourself within a larger cosmic conversation. 

To gain from astrology’s wisdom, you don’t have to “believe” that the planets impact day-to-day lives. It’s about synchronizing, mirroring, and looking at these entities to get a clear picture and sense of cosmic dialog. 

Zodiac Signs

In every beginner’s guide to astrology, you have to know that the sun or star sign represents how you appear to the world — your main personality traits. On the other hand, your moon sign is your emotional world — how other people perceive you.

Each sign corresponds to an element. For instance, water signs like Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces tend to more in tune with their intuition and emotional side. Earth signs like Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo are more grounded, pragmatic, and sensual. Air signs like Aquarius, Gemini, and Libra are more curious, light-hearted, and intellectual. Lastly, fire signs like Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are fiery and passionate.

Here’s what you have to know to get invaluable insight into your life through astrology.

The Quadruplicities

Each zodiac sign is assigned a quality: cardinal, fixed, or mutable, which explains its basic energy.

  • CardinalsAries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are born at the start of a season. They’re visionaries who are driven to always generate new strategies for success, often brimming with bold and brilliant ideas.
  • Mutable – Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are born at the end of a season. They’re flexible, open to going with the flow, and willing to hear all sides before making a big decision.
  • FixedTaurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are stubborn but also rock-steady. They usually get locked in a set of behavioral patterns or perspectives, making it challenging for them to redirect.


Fire signs get animated quickly but run the risk of burning out quickly. They thrive when there’s a way to channel their passion sustainably.

Aries (March 21 – April 19)

Their impulsivity and appetite for victory make them fun and fearless. They tend to be a rockstar politician or teammate you would drop everything to vouch for.

Leo (July 23 – August 22)

They’re full of life and positivity, commanding the spotlight in a way that entertains and inspires others. You can rely on Leos to help you see the bright side of any situation and feel fired up to take on the world.

Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)

Philosophical, fun-loving, and determined to take life by storm, this mutable fire sign tends to embrace a YOLO perspective. They’re entertainers of the zodiac, coming off lively, dynamic, and adore soaking up all the knowledge they can, especially around other cultures.


Known to be grounded, hard-working, and highly organized, earth signs are the perfectionists. Although their eye for detail and planning is helpful, they benefit from a support network that helps them see the bigger picture.

Taurus (April 20 – May 20)

Their resolute character, patience, and love of luxury make them loyal, loving, and soothing to be around. They can be your favorite Netflix and chill companions you can rely on to plan the most memorable spa day.

Virgo (August 23 – September 22)

Grounded empaths and give service to those they love, Virgos are also brimming with helpful information and action steps. They’re one of those first people to offer a shoulder to cry on and quick to share what they know to steer you in the right direction.

Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)

Industrious, reliable, this cardinal earth sign constantly inspires others with their perpetual determination to reach their lofty goals. They set the bar much higher for themselves, which leaves most people impressed.


Focused on intellectual and social pursuits, air signs are the connectors of the zodiac. Driven to gather and share information, they thrive when they have a specific endgame to pour their mental energy.

Gemini (May 21 – June 20)

You can count on Geminis to bring excitement, animated conversation, and lively energy to the table. Data, research, and trending news stories are the go-to sugar fix for Geminis, and they happily discuss it all with anyone up for engaging.

Libra (September 22 – October 23)

Libras are harmony-seeking social butterflies whose hearts are drawn to art and connecting with others. They’re on a perpetual mission to make life lighthearted, fun, and fair.

Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)

Free-spirited, friendly, and independent-minded, this fixed air sign is committed to questioning and perhaps outright rejecting the status quo. Their appetite for the community is also inspiring, as is their tendency to question and explore.


Water signs are family-oriented, slightly psychic empaths of the zodiac. They tend to let their big hearts show and pour it into their creative outlets.

Cancer (June 21 – July 22)

The cardinal water sign is famous for being nurturing, compassionate, and self-protective. They prioritize most people in their lives, so you can rely on Cancers to offer a shoulder to cry on.

Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)

The fixed water sign is extremely secretive about subjects dear to their hearts. They are charismatic and effortlessly command the spotlight.

Pisces (February 19 – March 20)

Artistic, compassionate, and intensely empathic, the mutable water sign is the zodiac’s obvious creative. When they channel emotions into an art form, they become more centered and enlightened.

A Catalyst For Change

Most people find that reading horoscopes give interesting viewpoints and can be used as a catalyst for change. Of course, not everything will resonate 100% because each person has free will. But being aware that there’s subtle cosmic energy at play can help you heighten life decisions.